The ‘Concours in the Village’ at the Sandhills Motoring Festival uses ‘French judging’ when determining the best vehicles on display. As a bit of background, the term ‘Concours d’Elegance’ is French, which roughly translates to ‘competition of elegance.’ As such, the first events of this sort were held in France in the early 1900s as transportation began to transition from horses to horsepower. Those early events were largely about the overall impression of the vehicle, and that led to the use of the term ‘French judging’ throughout the Concours world. This, of course, is not the only type of Concours judging, but it is the one that is most relevant to the Sandhills Motoring Festival.

Best in Show Sporting

Car: 2023 Ferrari 812 Competizione
Owner: Robert Guth


Best In Show Touring

Car: 1923 Rolls Royce – Silver Ghost
Owner: Douglas White


Grand Marshall’s Award

Car: 1980 BMW M1
Owner: Scott & Fran Hughes

Mayor’s Award

Car: 1964 Porsche 356 C
Owner: Rick Hartbrodt

President’s Award

Car: 1967 Porsche 911 Targa
Owner: Ray Theiss

Hagerty Youth Judge’s Award

Car: 1981 Delorean DMC-12
Owner: Tim/Ethan Mize

Most Significant American Car

Car: 1961 Chevrolet Stingray Roadster
Owner: Ron Perry

Most Significant European Car

Car: 1958 MG MGA Twin Cam Racer
Owner: John Hill

Car I would most like to take to the Racetrack

Car: 1991 Ferrari F40
Owner: Saadat Khan

Russell Fleury Memorial Award – Most Significant Porsche

Car: 1994 Porsche 928 GTS
Owner: William Suite

SMF Road Rally Champions

Car: 1982 Mercedes-Benz 300CD
Owner: Nicholas and Gillian Grdina

Longleaf Craftsman Award – Selected by Ben Owen

Car: 2022 Ferrari Portofino M
Owner: David McNair

Spirit of Preservation – Selected by Mark Moskowitz

Car: 1983 Porsche 911 SC
Owner: Pattilee Berridge


Class 1a – Porsche 911 Air-Cooled
Winner: 1995 Porsche 993 Owned by: Stan Simm
Sandhills Award: 1987 Porsche 911 Carrera Owned by: Don Whitehead

Class 1b – Porsche 356
Winner: 1962 Porsche 356B T6 Owned by: David Hay
Sandhills Award: 1964 Porsche 356 C Owned by: Rick Hartbrodt

Class 2 – Porsche Water-Cooled
Winner: 1994 Porsche 928 GTS Owned by: William Suite
Sandhills Award: 2016 Porsche 981 Spyder Owned by: Eddie Fort

Class 3 – Supercars
Winner: 1980 BMW M1 Owned by: Scott & Fran Hughes
Sandhills Award: 2022 McLaren GT Owned by: Mark Corigliano

Class 4 – Ferrari – Classic
Winner: 1987 Ferrari 328 Owned by: Trent Freeman
Sandhills Award: 1991 Ferrari F40 Owned by: Saadat Khan

Class 5 – Ferrari – Modern
Winner: 2023 Ferrari 812 Competizione Owned by: Robert Guth
Sandhills Award:  2014 Ferrari F12 Owned by: Dick Morehead

Class 6 – Micro Cars
Winner: 1958 BMW Isetta Owned by: Wilbur Strickland
Sandhills Award: 1973 Fiat 500 Owned by: Marvin Waters

Class 7a – Radwood 1980-1989
Winner: 1986 Mazda Luce Owned by: Fred Reingel
Sandhills Award: 1981 Delorean DMC-12 Owned by: Tim/Ethan Mize

Class 7b – Radwood 1990-1999
Winner: 1998 Acura NSX Owned by: Owen Cooper
Sandhills Award: 1995 BMW M3 Owned by: William DiOrio

Class 8 – Automobile Owners Under 30
Winner: 1973 Porsche 914 Owned by: Bobby Woodruff
Sandhills Award: 1986 Nissan 300ZX Owned by: Gavin Freeman

Class 9 – Mercedes-Benz Pagoda
Winner: 1967 Mercedez Benz 250SL Owned by: Raymond Schlicht
Sandhills Award: 1971 Mercedez Benz 280 SL Owned by: Stephen and Jeanne Brooks

Class 10 – Mercedes-Benz AMG
Winner: 2012 Mercedez Benz SLS AMG Owned by: Michael Joyce
Sandhills Award: 2007 Mercedez Benz CLK 63 AMG Owned by: Volker Stieber

Class 12 – Pinehurst Country Club Cars
Winner: 2002 Bentley Azure Owned by: Jack Kennard
Sandhills Award: 1966 Plymouth Satellite Owned by: Edward Hostetter

Class 13 – American Classics Pre-War
Winner: 1926 Cadillac Phaeton Owned by: Charles and Deatra Sellers
Sandhills Award: 1941 Ford Tudor Owned by: Chris Redmond

Class 14 – American Classics Post-War
Winner: 1926 Cadillac Phaeton Owned by: Charles and Deatra Sellers
Sandhills Award: 1941 Ford Tudor Owned by: Chris Redmond

Class 15 – European Classics Pre-War
Winner: 1923 Rolls Royce – Silver Ghost Owned by: Douglas White
Sandhills Award: 1938 Mercedez Benz 170V Owned by: Susan VanStavern

Class 16 – European Classics Post-War
Winner: 1954 Bentley R-Type Owned by: Carlos Fox
Sandhills Award: 1971 Mercedes-Benz 280 SE 3.5 Owned by: Jim Ballheim

Class 17 – American Sports Cars through 1975   
Winner: 1967 Chevrolet Corvette Owned by: Anthony Grossman
Sandhills Award: 1969 Chevrolet Z28 Camaro Owned by: Bill Head

Class 18 – European Sports Cars through 1975
Winner: 1963 Morgan 4/4 Owned by: Jack Zimmerman
Sandhills Award: 1968 BMW 1600ti Owned by: Michael Sperber

Class 19 – Motorcycles
Winner: 1978 Moto Guzzi Le Mans Owned by: Peter Morland

For Past Awards Please Visit:

Back to top