2022 Award Winners


The ‘Concours in the Village’ at the Sandhills Motoring Festival uses ‘French judging’ when determining the best vehicles on display. As a bit of background, the term ‘Concours d’Elegance’ is French, which roughly translates to ‘competition of elegance.’ As such, the first events of this sort were held in France in the early 1900s as transportation began to transition from horses to horsepower. Those early events were largely about the overall impression of the vehicle, and that led to the use of the term ‘French judging’ throughout the Concours world. This, of course, is not the only type of Concours judging, but it is the one that is most relevant to the Sandhills Motoring Festival.

Best in Show Sporting

Car: 1952 Siata 300BC
Owner: Scott & Jamie Celiewich, Winter Park, FL

04-SMF-03-SMF-1962-Siata-300BC-Scott-Jamie Celiewich-Credit-John-Patota

Best In Show Touring

Car: 1938 Mercedes-Benz 540K
Owner: Robert Jepson, Jr., Savannah GA


Chairman’s Award

Car: 1955 Mercedes-Benz 300 Roadster
Owner: Jim Ballheim

Mayor’s Award

Car: 1934 SS1 Touring
Owner: Chris Lapinski

President’s Award

Car: 1964 Morris Mini Cooper S
Owner: Larry Holloway

Hagerty Youth Judge’s Award

Car: 1970 Mercedes-Benz 280 SL
Owner: Tommy Couch

Most Significant American Car

Car: 1931 Buick Series 60 Phaeton
Owner: Tom Treharne

Most Significant European Car

Car: 1935/1949 Frazer Nash BMW 315
Owner: Dale Critz, Jr.

Bjorn Nordemo Memorial Award – Most Significant Mercedes-Benz

Car: 1970 Mercedes-Benz 280 SL
Owner: John Byrne

Russell Fleury Memorial Award – Most Significant Porsche

Car: 1989 Porsche Slant Nose
Owner: Ray Theiss

Car I would most like to take to the Racetrack

Car: 1988 Porsche 944
Owner: Colin Dougherty

Longleaf Craftsman Award – Selected by Ben Own

Car: 1931 Buick Series 60 Phaeton
Owner: Tom Treharne

MBCA Award of Excellence for Best Mercedes

Car: 1972 Mercedes-Benz 280 SE 4.5
Owner: Fred Zell

Spirit of Preservation – Selected by Mark Moskowitz

Car: 1984 Datsun 300 ZX
Owner: Ken Sanborn


Class 1 – Porsche through 1973
Winner: 1973 Porsche 914 Owned by: Bobby Woodruff
Sandhills Award: 1964 Porsche 356 SC Owned by: Cody Bowman

Class 2 – Porsche 1974-1998
Winner: 1977 Porsche Euro Carrera 3.0 Owned by: Chad Holderfield
Sandhills Award: 1994 Porsche 928 GTS Owned by: William Suite

Class 3 – Ferrari Supercars
Winner: 2003 Ferrari 360 Owned by: Paul Gordon
Sandhills Award: 2015 Ferrari 458 Spider Italia Owned by: Kendall Roy

Class 4 – Corvettes through 1973
Winner: 1967 Chevrolet Corvette Owned by: David Bell
Sandhills Award: 1967 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray Owned by: David Nierle

Class 5 – Corvettes 1974-2022
Winner: 2013 Chevrolet C6 Corvette Coupe Owned by: Thomas Meyer
Sandhills Award: 1996 Corvette Grand Sport Owned by: Mark Alter

Class 6 – Micro Cars
Winner: 1948 Crosley CC Owned by: Curtis Coulthard
Sandhills Award: 1959 Austin Healey Bug Eye Sprite Owned by: Renee Jamison

Class 7- Macro Cars
Winner: 1940 Chevrolet Special Deluxe Owned by: Colin Chinn
Sandhills Award: 1965 Cadillac Deville Owned by: Elijah Smith

Class 8 – Automobile Owners Under 30
Winner: 1953 Chevrolet 3100 Owned by: Colton Roberts
Sandhills Award: 2016 Volkswagon GTI Owned by: Mathew Mueller

Class 9 – Mercedes-Benz Pagoda
Winner: 1970 Mercedes-Benz 280 SL Owned by: Bernie Long
Sandhills Award: 1966 Mercedes-Benz 230 SL Owned by: Bill Head

Class 10 – Mercedes-Benz 1965-1985
Winner: 1972 Mercedes-Benz 280 SE 4.5 Owned by: Fred Zell
Sandhills Award: 1982 Mercedes-Benz 300 CD Owned by: Nick Grdina

Class 11 – Japanese Sports Cars
Winner: 1993 Mazda RX-7 Owned by: Christina Erwin
Sandhills Award: 1995 Toyota Supra Twin Turbo Owned by: Paul & Lisa Pepe

Class 12 – Vintage Race Cars
Winner: 1961 Chaparral Mark 1 Owned by: Jose Fernandez
Sandhills Award: 1935/1949 Frazer Nash BMW 315 Owned by: Dale Critz, Jr.

Class 13 – Super Cars
Winner: 2016 Dodge Viper SRT Owned by: Larry Martof
Sandhills Award: 2020 McLaren 720S Performance Spider Owned by: Duane Barlow

Class 14 – Pinehurst Country Club Cars
Winner: 1966 Plymouth Satellite Owned by: Edward Hostetter
Sandhills Award: 1933 Ford Coupe Owned by: Constance Miazga

Class 15A – American Classics through 1970
Winner: 1957 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz Owned by: Phil & Mary Farese
Sandhills Award: 1931 Packard 840 Owned by: Mitch Pinion

Class 15B – European Classics through 1970
Winner: 1938 Mercedez-Benz 540K Owned by: Robert S. Jepson, Jr.
Sandhills Award: 1934 SS1 Touring Owned by: Chris Lapinski

Class 15C – American Sports Cars through 1970    
Winner: 1966 Ford Mustang Owned by: Corey Ingle
Sandhills Award: 1967 Chevrolet Camaro Owned by: Brittany Bronson

Class 15D – European Sports Cars through 1970
Winner: 1952 Siata 300 BC Owned by: Scott Cielewich
Sandhills Award: 1972 BMW CSL Owned by: Scott Hughes

Class 16 – Motorcycles
Winner: 1967 Triumph Daytona Owned by: Justin Cole
Sandhills Award: 1936 Harley Davidson VLH Owned by: Andrew Meislin

Back to top