2021 Award Winners


Sandhills Motoring Festival judging utilize the Werks Reunion judging rules and standards as used at Werks in Carmel and Amelia Island.

Best in Show Sporting

Car: 1963 Shelby Cobra 289 Mk I
Owner: Lewis Pollard


Best In Show Touring

Car: 1928 Bugatti Type 46
Owner: Robert Jepson


Chairman’s Award

Car: 1959 Siata 200 CS
Owner: Walter Eisenstark

Mayor’s Award

Car: 1953 Siata 208S
Owner: Scott Cielewich

President’s Award

Car: 1930 Bentley 4.5L Le Mans
Owner: Gordon King

Most Significant American Car

Car: 1964.5 Ford Mustang
Owner: Duane Chrismer

Most Significant European Car

Car: 1925 Rolls-Royce Picadilly Roadster
Owner: Guy Lewis

Most Significant Porsche

Car: 1957 Porsche Carrera GT
Owner: Jeff Files

Car I would most like to take to the Racetrack

Car: 1970 Porsche 917
Owner: Richard Glover

Car I would most like to take on the Cannonball Run

Car: 2020 McLaren 720S
Owner: Duane Barlow

Car Club Showcase People’s Choice

Car: 1968 Plymouth Barracuda
Owner: Miles Baldwin

Hagerty Youth Judge’s Award

Car: 1970 Porsche 917
Owner: Richard Glover


Class 1 – Porsche GT
Sponsored by: Meese Property Group
Winner: 1957 Porsche Carrera GT Owned by: Jeff Files
Sandhills Award: 2019 Porsche GT2 RS Owned by: John Gregorich

Class 2 – Porsche Turbo
Sponsored by: Spartan Property Management
Winner: 1979 Porsche 911 Turbo Owned by: Richard Papy
Sandhills Award: 1989 Porsche 911 Turbo Owned by: Roger Kohout

Class 3 – Supercars
Sponsored by: ATD Detailing
Winner: 2005 Porsche Carrera GT Owned by: Jeff Files
Sandhills Award: 2018 Mercedes Benz GTC AMG Owned by: Jonathan Palmer

Class 4 – Pinehurst Country Club Cars 1960-1970
Sponsored by: Pinehurst Vacation Rentals
Winner: 1971 Mercedes Benz 250 Owned by: Joan Couch
Sandhills Award: 1973 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow Owned by: Mark Ibenthal

Class 6 – MG 1924-1974
Sponsored by: Olmsted Village Company
Winner: 1949 MG-TC Owned by: Kirk Crawford
Sandhills Award: 1960 MGA Owned by: Allan Owen

Class 7- Jaguar 1935-1974
Sponsored by: Moto Mortgage
Winner: 1973 Jaguar E-Type Series III Owned by: Conley Painter
Sandhills Award: 1971 Jaguar E-Type FHC Owned by: Ferman Wardell

Class 8 – Ferrari (Early)
Sponsored by: Premier Real Estate
Winner: 1984 Ferrari 512BB Owned by: Robert Guth
Sandhills Award: 1980 Ferrari 308 GTSI Owned by: Diehl Jones

Class 9 – Ferrari (Modern)
Sponsored by: Stockham Financial
Winner: 2020 Ferrari 488 Pista Owned by: Rob Ayers
Sandhills Award: 2017 Ferrari F12 Berlinetta Owned by: Payman Bazzoband

Class 10 – Mercedes Benz SL
Sponsored by: Bjorn Nordemo
Winner: 1970 Meredes Benz 280 SL Owned by: Tommy Couch
Sandhills Award: 1971 Mercedes 280 SL Owned by: Bill Head

Class 11 – Ford Thunderbird 1955-57
Sponsored by: Buffalo Creek Vacations
Winner: 1956 Ford Thunderbird Owned by: Frank Salvatore
Sandhills Award: 1957 Ford Thunderbird Owned by: Larry Ganse

Class 12 – Japanese Sports Cars
Sponsored by: Southern Pines Automotive Group
Winner: 2015 Nissan GTR Owned by: Robert Ciman
Sandhills Award: 1984 Datsun Owned by: 300ZX Ken Sanborn

Class 13 – IMSA / Road Race Cars
Sponsored by: Jersey Mike’s Subs
Winner: 1970 Porsche 917 Owned by: Richard Glover
Sandhills Award: 1965 Shelby Daytona Owned by: Fred Ayers

Class 14 – Corvette Special
Sponsored by: Homewood Suites
Winner: 2019 Corvette ZR1 Owned by: John Gregorich
Sandhills Award: 2011 Corvette Z06 Carbon Limited Edition Owned by: Tom Tlusty

Class 15A – American Classics through 1970
Sponsored by: Car-Toons by Booth
Winner: 1932 Chrysler Imperial Owned by: William & Tina Sipko
Sandhills Award: 1951 Chrysler Windsor Deluxe Owned by: Joseph Grasso

Class 15B – European Classics through 1970
Sponsored by: Kaizen Autosports
Winner: 1928 Bugatti Type 46 Owned by: Bob Jepson
Sandhills Award: 1925 Rolls Royce Picadilly Roadster Owned by: Guy Lewis

Class 15C – American Sports Cars through 1970    
Sponsored by: Mosquito Authority    
Winner: 1963 Shelby Cobra 289 Mk I Owned by: Lewis Pollard
Sandhills Award: 1966 Ford Mustang GT Owned by: David Balfour

Class 15D – European Sports Cars through 1970
Sponsored by: Pinescones
Winner: 1962 Porsche 356 T-6 GOwned by: erry Curts
Sandhills Award: 1953 Siata 208S Owned by: Scott Cielewich

Class 16 – Motorcycles
Sponsored by: Smart Waste
Winner: 1951 Vincent Touring Rapide Owned by: Daniel Helvey
Sandhills Award: 1947 Indian Chief Owned by: Howard Bokhoven

Back to top